Share My Lesson

A friend mentioned Share My Lesson awhile ago. It was one of those resources I tucked in to my back pocket…rewind, this is 2015. I bookmarked it and forgot about it.

Then, I stumbled across it again. Randomly, it kept presenting itself to me and because I was busy, I ignored it. But, I had read The Celestine Prophecy in college and I know that coincidences happen for a reason. To be clear, I still ignore them. I digress. I followed up this time, only because it served me in the moment. I was searching for anticipation guides for the short story Harrison Bergeron and lo and behold, there was Share My Lesson again.

Are you tired of hearing how I got there yet? Want to know what it is? You mean, the title didn’t give that away?

I’ll let them speak for themselves:SML

“Share My Lesson is a place where educators can come together to create and share their very best teaching resources. Developed by teachers for teachers, this free platform gives access to high-quality teaching resources and provides an online community where teachers can collaborate with, encourage and inspire each other.”

What I’m finding…

There are resources out the wazoo. A great place to end up when you get the activity planning portion of your unit planning. There are some stand alone resources and some full blown lesson plans. They are organized by level (i.e., elementary, middle, high). They even have a section for Special Populations (i.e., gifted, ELL, and students with disabilities).

Ages

Once you select your level, it is broken down further by subject/content area. Here is a snippet of what I get when I select Middle School.

subjects

After that, it breaks it down further to grade level and strands. It’s looks like they are in the process of aligning all the resources to Common Core Standards. Even though we are not a CCSS state, SOLs are very similar when you dig deep into it.

grades

There you have it, a basic break down of resources. From here, you just explore what they have and see what you can use.

If you join up, you can follow me at MsColeRVA. Also, follow ShareMyLesson on Twitter @sharemylesson

I’ll post more later about the Community section of their site, just as soon as I have time to explore it!

Leave a Reply

